ITA to Host Second Tunneling Awards Nov. 10-11

After a successful launch in 2015 (110 nominations, 11 awards for projects and personalities), the International Tunnelling and Underground Space Association (ITA) is launching the second program for the ITA Tunneling Awards. This event will take place in Singapore Nov. 10-11, 2016. ITA is now inviting nominations.

Profiling particularly outstanding achievements in underground infrastructure across the world through this competition, ITA intends to identify and support a wide and diverse range of tunneling projects, from large-scale and large-budget infrastructure projects to more specific ground-breaking technical innovations.

ITA Awards 2015: the Oscars of Tunnelling

The ceremony of the Oscars of the underground took place last night in the charming and fascinating Hagerbach test gallery in Switzerland. The first night of the ITA awards ended with a huge audience and was followed on the internet through social networks.
Perhaps the most coveted prize for the major project of the year goes to the Eurasia Tunnel in Turkey.

However, the first night of the awards speaks mainly Italian with two awards that go to the station “Toledo” in Naples and to the enterprise “Salini-Impregilo” and the addition of a well-deserved lifetime achievement award for Prof. Eng. Pelizza of the Turin Polytechnic.
Sweden also imposes itself in the conquest of some coveted awards including one for the outstanding project of the year and that for the tunneling project of the year (along with Finland).

Generally, however, the prizes have been awarded in various parts of the world, in full harmony with the international role of the evening.
Europe is still the leader of the tunneling but the rest of the world is not watching.

«Un capolavoro» : in lizza per l'ITA Awards 2015

Li Matino - 22/09/2015

"Acceptance of the Italian candidate" Toledo Station of Line 1 of the Naples metro "ITA Tunnelling Awards 2015 'to be held in Hagerbach in Switzerland on November 19. What is it about? The metro station of Toledo - which already has been awarded throughout Europe as an example of the art technology combined - now competes for the Oscar, climb onto the roof of the world. Ita tunneling is the "Italian Society Galleries' association for 40 years divulge the know-how in the field of tunnels and major underground works. "It is an association - says on its website - with the purpose of cultural open-active in the promotion, coordination and dissemination of studies and research in the field and nel'arte the construction of tunnels and underground works great."

Download the article

ITA Tunnelling Awards shortlist announced

Final candidates are selected for this year’s 2015 ITA Tunnelling Awards. The judging panel has selected a shortlist of 32 finalists, from 110 entries, to go forward to the Awards on 19 November at the Hagerbach underground testing facility in Switzerland. A jury of 18 experts will make the final decision during the one-day conference, prior to announcing the category winners at that evening’s special Awards Banquet.

ITA Launches Tunneling Awards

As part of its strategy to further enhance tunneling and underground space awareness on an international level, the International Tunnelling and Underground Space Association (ITA) officially launched its own dedicated Tunneling Awards program in March 2015. Through these awards, ITA aims at identify outstanding achievements in the field of tunneling and underground space use, and provide international recognition to these remarkable contributions. Since the registration opening on April 10, more than 30 candidates have applied.

Entries file in for ITA Awards 2015

Since registration opening on 10 April, more than 30 nominations have been filed for the 2015 awards that will recognise excellence within the tunnelling and underground space industry. The entries will compete in one of nine categories that represent major sectors of the industry from projects of different sizes that completed between January 2014 and February 2015; technical and underground space use innovations; environmental and safety initiatives; and an award to promote the achievements of the industry’s young professionals.